Navigation

Automatic URL endings

The text which is shown in the address bar of your browser is called URL.
(e.g. http://ethnosites.net/vie/_2464)

The last part of this URL identifies the page you see in your browser. We refer to that last part as URL-ending.
(e.g. http://ethnosites.net/vie/_2464)

An earlier version of this system created URL-endings automatically as a number.
(or you could manually change the URL-ending to a text you entered. )

Now you can set an option to create a text automatically, based on the title of your page.
(e.g. title: "Christmas Songs" --> URL-ending: "christmas-songs")

In this article you will learn:

  1. How to enable automated URL-endings for existing pages
  2. How to enable automated URL-endings for new pages
  3. What happens when the title of your page is changed


How to enable automated URL-endings for existing pages

  1. When you edit a page in the upper part you see the page title area .

  2. When cursor focus leaves the page title area the title appears at the bottom of the page
    in the description of the checkbox "Automatic URL ending"

  3. Below that you can see the existing URL in the "URL ending for this page:"-box.
  4. Now to enable the automated URL-ending based on the entered page title you
    check the checkbox "Automatic URL ending"
  5. The box "URL ending for this page:" will disappear.

‚Äč


How to enable automated URL-endings for new pages

With the latest version of our website builder system the autumatic URL-endings
are enabled be default for new pages.

You can disable it by unchecking the checkbox "Automatic URL ending" at the bottom of the edit page.


What happens when the title of your page is changed

Because the automatic URL-ending is based on the title of the page you might expect a change of the
URL-ending when the title is changed.

That is not what happens!

We want to ensure that your URL does not change often. Maybe several of your
vistors have bookmarked your page already. So it would be a bad thing to change
the URL afterwards.

The system behaves in the following way:

  1. You changed the page title > The checkbox "Automatic URL ending" stays checked.
  2. You hit the save button > The checkbox becomes unchecked. The box "URL ending for this page:" appears. The pages is not saved!
  3. You hit the save button again. -> Page is saved, automatic URL-ending is disabled for this page.

Before hitting the save button the second time you can decide to check the checkbox "Automatic URL ending" again.
This way you force the system to change the URL to your page. Automatic URL-ending stays enabled.